(Very Early) Promotion Watch: Ascenso MX Pre-Season Presser Highlights

Earlier this past week, after the Ordinary Assembly meeting, Liga MX President Enrique Bonilla held a press conference to discuss the upcoming Ascenso MX season. Some notable highlights:
The Apertura 2017 Tournament will only have 17 teams instead of the usual 18-Club Tlaxcala has been removed from the league for failure to comply with the Rules of Affiliation, Name & Headquarters. They have until December to get in compliance to be reinstated for next tournament and the 2018-2019 season.
There also were team name changes & relocations-Club Coras has left the city of Tepec an will be known as Atletico Zacatepec for this upcoming season. Atletico San Luis, under new ownership, will now be known as Atletico De San Luis.
With regards to the debts owed by newly-demoted Chiapas Jaguares, Bonilla stated they have until this Tuesday to resolve their issues-as do all teams for both national & international debts. If they fail, they will not be able to participate in the upcoming transfer period.
The 17 teams for the upcoming Apertura tournament: Alebrijes de Oaxaca, Atlante, Cafetaleros, Celaya, Atletico Zacatepec, Dorados de Sinaloa, Correcaminos, Cimmarones de Sonora, Bravos de Juarez, Jaguares, Mineros de Zacatecas, Murcielagos, TM Futbol, Potros UAEM, Leones Negros, Venados, Atletico De San Luis.
The Apertura tournament starts July 21, the Clausura 2018 starts January 5. The Grand Championship, where the winner will be promoted to Liga MX for 2018-19, will be May 12, 2018.