Liga MX Women’s Tournament 2016-2017 Round 3 Results

The third and final day of the Liga MX Women’s Tournament took place today, results from the last group of round-robin group matchups:
Game 1-America 0, Tigres 0
Game 2-Necaxa 1, Cruz Azul 0
Game 3-Guadalajara 2, Morelia 1
Game 4-Monterrey 4, Pumas 2
Game 5-Tijuana 2, Santos 0
Game 6-Pachuca 6, Toluca 1

With the group stage over the top 2 overall teams advance to the Gran Final-because they were the only 3-0 teams, that means it will be Tijuana vs. Pachuca. The final was scheduled for tonight but has been moved to tomorrow at Noon CT (10 AM PT, 1 PM ET), and will air live in the US & Mexico on Univision Deportes.

The league also crowned it’s first individual women’s champion, as Pachuca forward Monica Ocampo won the goal-scoring title with 6 goals in the 3 preliminary games, clinching the title with a hat trick in the final game today. 5 women tied for 2nd with 4 goals each, including 2 of Ocampo’s teammates. Of note is that one of those 5, Berenice Munoz, did hers in just 78 minutes over 2 games. The more impressive part? She’s only 17. In all 37 women scored at least one goal in the first part of the tournament. Between longtime veterans and young up-and-coming girls, the future looks bright for the league going forward.

Advertisements