A New Era Begins-Liga MX Women’s League Arrives

A special press conference was held today where Liga MX finally unveiled it’s much-anticipated Women’s League-Liga MX Femenil. The presser was led by ESPN personality Nelly Simon, Televisa Deportes Network’s Liliana Sanchez and Liga MX President Enrique Bonilla. For the first season the Liga MX Femenil will hold a 12-team tournament, with each team representing one of the current Liga MX clubs. The 3 groups of 4 teams are as follows:
Group 1-Toluca, Pachuca, Morelia, Guadalajara
Group 2-Monterrey, Pumas, Tigres, America
Group 3-Tijuana, Santos, Cruz Azul, Necaxa

Each team will play 3 group matches total, facing the other teams in the group once. The top 2 teams in each group will advance to the next round. In case of ties, the tiebreakers will be, in order: Goal differential, goals, H2H result, Fair Play Points and, if it gets that far, a coin flip.

The first round games will be held on May 3, 4 & 5. The games are not scheduled to be on TV at this time but the league will provide live play-by-play on the Liga MX website. This site will provide results & standings as well.